The Connecticut Speech-Hearing Foundation

Connecticut Speech and Hearing Foundation


The Connecticut Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation was established in 1978 for the purpose of promoting, developing and maintaining charitable, scientific, and educational programs to improve the quality of life for individuals who experience speech, language, or hearing impairment. Money raised by the foundation supports a wide variety of professional and consumer activities including educational workshops on topics related to family and consumer advocacy as well as professional development in the areas of speech-language pathology and audiology. The foundation awards scholarships on a yearly basis to graduate students in speech-language pathology and audiology at Southern Connecticut State University, the University of Connecticut and Sacred Heart University.

2020 – 2021 Executive Board:
JoAnn Forman, President

Nicole Gallagher, Vice President

Andrew Lees, Treasurer

Barbara Cook, Secretary

Board of Trustees
Sherry Ellis
Jamie Marotto
Jean McCarthy
Rhea Paul
Sujini Ramachandar
Jen Rucci

Please consider an annual or legacy contribution to the Foundation so that it may continue its important work. All of the money donated supports our scholarships and mini-grant programs. By contributing generously to the Foundation, you are showing that you not only value our profession but also support our young people entering the field. In other words, 100% of the monetary gift you give translates directly into the future of our profession.We strongly hope you will consider making a donation today. All donations are tax deductible.

Mail your donation to:
Andrew Lees, Treasurer
231 Snow Owl Drive
Southington, CT 06489

Contributions may also be made electronically by clicking the button below.

The Connecticut Speech and Hearing Foundation Needs your Support and Here’s What You Can Do to Help.

  • The Foundation relies solely on monetary donations to fund our scholarship and mini-grant programs. Please consider making a donation to the Foundation that supports your profession.  Go to the CSHA website, click on the “About Us” tab at the top of the page and scroll down to The CSH Foundation Follow the steps to make your tax-deductible donation.
  • Or if you prefer, make a donation by writing a check to CSHF and mail to: Andy Lees, Treasurer, 231 Snow Owl Drive, Southington, CT 06489
  • Next time you order from Amazon, type in Click on the button “start shopping”.  When you shop, the Connecticut Speech and Hearing Foundation will receive .5% of your eligible purchases at no added cost to you.  How easy is that?


CSHF Mini Grants!
Now here’s one way that the Foundation can give back to YOU!
If you are a practicing clinician and have a project that you would like to pursue that would enhance the clinical practice for the clients that you serve, please consider submitting your proposal for one of our Foundation Mini-grants.  To date, the Foundation has awarded three $500 grants to clinicians in our State who needed some funding to bring their good ideas to a reality. Keep in mind, the application process is not difficult and we welcome all applicants. Applications can be picked up at the CSHA Spring Conference, or you may request one directly using the following email addresses: or Applications will be accepted through September 1, 2020.

Connecticut Speech and Hearing Foundation Scholarships & Grant Recipients

2020-2021 Foundation Mini-Grant Recipient
Amy Dalena
Plainville Public Schools

2020 Scholarship Recipients

    • Cha-Anya Glover
    • Rose Bryan
    • Paula Calandra
    • Erica Scarpati
  • SCSU
    • Diana Lituma-Solis
    • Kaitlyn McNabb
    • Catherine Lenz
    • Lara DelPiano
    • Jacqueline Holowczyk
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Stefanie Guglielmo
    • Suzie Im
    • Samantha Beech

2019 – 2020 Mini-Grant Recipients
Sara Burnham
Lauren Varholak
Katie McLoughlin
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit CCMC

2019 Scholarship Recipients

    • Jenna Truglio
    • Mollie Traub
    • Emma Hungaski
    • Natalie Silvia
  • SCSU
    • Katherine Adams
    • Caitlin Nickerson
    • Rachael Levesque
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Kelsey Himmelwright
    • Victoria Ceballos
    • Kailee Oakes

2019 Mini-Grant Recipients
Cynthia Springer and Kristen Daly – Wethersfield Public Schools

2018 Scholarship Recipients

    • Samantha Formica
    • Ashley Bean
    • Lauren Como
    • Olivia DeWald
  • SCSU
    • Rebecca Spadory
    • Rebecca Shea
    • Kalie Menders
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Abbey Foxon
    • Angel Zamora
    • Katie Varrastro
    • Sarah McNichols

2017-2018 Foundation Mini-Grant Recipients
Amy Jagoda
Caryn McAllister
Karen Poggi

2017 Scholarship Recipients

    • Casey Borstel
    • Alyssa Fazzino
    • Emily Fiorey
    • Jenna Malysako
  • SCSU
    • Amy Fischl
    • Angela Flanagan
    • Katelyn Wentz
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Aynsley Gouck
    • Hillary Maxim
    • Jill McCann

2016 Scholarship Recipients

    • Mia Archambault
    • Stephen Graham
    • Hilary Maxim
    • Lindsay Young
  • SCSU
    • Taylor Bird
    • Christina Lasto
    • Lauren Varholak
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Marina Cella
    • Lianne Khoo
    • Alexandra Nelson
    • Stephanie Ridge

2015 Scholarship Recipients

    • Margaret Bergin
    • Christopher Briody
    • Kelly Casey
    • Meg Ryan
    • Tracie Tuss
    • Lindsay Young
  • SCSU
    • Michelle Aristizabal
    • Samantha Hershfield
    • Edna Jo Piccrillo
    • Maria Yorgakaros
  • Sacred Heart University
    • Linsay Droney
    • Jamie-Marie Erickson
    • Julia Poole